Album Review: Transition by Psychophile

Album Name: Transition
Artist: Psychophile
Year/Label: 2003 / Wasp Factory

[Buy at Psychophile Official Site]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Psychophile are unashamedly gothic. Their lead singer is the deep-voiced Lucy Pointycat, who brings a great deal of intensity to the bands heavy sound.

“Mirrors” is a song where Lucy gets to show off her higher register. The menacing backing brings latter-day Siouxsie to mind.

“Never had a Face” is sombre and forbidding. Lucy humanises it with her radiant vocal. It echoes eighties synth band Yazz, but sounds a great deal darker. Lucy sounds like Alison Moyet’s evil daughter.

“Sciagraphy” is a sensuous, techno-tinged track.

“Vice Girl” is a haunting song with a pounding beat.

A cover of Ultra Vivid Scene’s “Mercy Seat” closes the album.

Psychophile are clearly a gifted band.

Posted on December 10, 2003

Track Listing
1. Visions Images and Dreams
2. Mirrors
3. Never Had a Face
4. Invocation
5. Intense
6. Sciagraphy
7. For Her
8. Vice Girl
9. Surplus
10. Illumination
11. Horrorshow
12. Darklight
13. Mercy Seat

[Psychophile Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.